Visit to learn more about the Space Education Centers in Utah. Visit and for information on joining a simulator based school space and science club.

Sunday, October 25, 2015

Honor's Night. February 2002. Celebrating Those Who Imagineered the Space Center Over the Last 25 Years. Thank You

Front Row Left to Right: BJ Warner, Emily Perry Paxman, Alex DeBirk, ?
Back Row: Aleta Clegg, Licia Clegg, Ammon Clegg, Sam Brady, and ?

Hello Troubadours,
     To celebrate the Space Center's silver anniversary on November 8th, I've decided to highlight and honor the people of the Space Center by posting many of my old pictures.
These dedicated "troops" were (and are) my comrades, confidants, volunteers, staff, and friends. Each one played a part in making this brand of experiential education remarkably successful.
     Thank you for your help. Thank you for your kindnesses. Thank you for your time and efforts. I hope your time at the Space Center is remembered fondly.  Please drop me a line and say hello. I'd like to know where life has taken you.  Also, please come to the 25th anniversary party, Saturday, November 7 at Central School.

Mr. Williamson

Honor's Night. February 2, 2002

Honors Nights are a time for staff and volunteers to gather and be recognized for their achievements
Look at who got their blue shirts way back in February 2002.
Megan Warner, Jameson McDougal, Wesley Moss, Casey Voeks, Sam Brady, and Rick Cowdell.
I need someone to email and tell me what the blue shirt requirements were in 2002.

Tanner Chamberlain is looking confused. Brady Young is looking over the honors.  

The meeting had started. Mark Daymont and Lorraine Houston were ready to present the honors.
The now long gone Falcon portable simulator was in the white boxes in the background.

A more formal picture showing the gang showing off their one year volunteering pins. 

Rio Downs was presented her five years of service pin.  The original Galileo is seen in the background. 

Ahh, you were really something to be given a Lorraine Houston pillowcase.  I believe you needed 500 volunteering points to earn one. Alex Debirk is in the background.  The front row left to right
Casey Voeks, Katie Kirkham, Megan Warner, and Sam Brady.

Where and how this tradition started in unknown to me, but I'm sure someone out there will write and tell me. 

Ryan Parsons hit the 1000 volunteering points and received his highly coveted Lorraine Houston blanket.

Tanner Chamberlain earned another rank of distinction.  The staff earned ranks they wore on their right collars.

Scott Slaugh being recognized for his outstanding work.

Brady Young being honored.

Josh Babb very please with his new rank.

Rio officially retired from the Space Center on this honor's night. She took a job at the Wendover airport.  

Clint Cowdell was one of the new volunteers just coming onboard. He got his black shirt that night.

Thomas Harding, Clint Cowdell, and Emily Perry - all happy new volunteers.

Randy Jepperson ranking up. He was the last of the old school volunteers.

Yes, that's the current Space Center director James Porter being congratulated by Dave Wall for something seriously profound. What that was is unknown because I can't make out what he's holding.
Dave Wall and his brother designed and built the original Odyssey.  Dave was the Odyssey's first flight and set director. 

How About a Couple Bonus Pictures from a Few Years Earlier

Digital cameras were just coming out when these two pictures were taken - hence the poor quality.
We have the band of brothers at the start of an overnight camp standing in front of the Odyssey.
Landon Hemsley, Soren Seibach, Charlie Heaton, Bryson Lystrup, Randy Jepperson, Brady Young, Matt Long, and Bryce Redd.

Landon Hemsley, Soren Seibach, Charlie Heaton, Bryson Lystrup, Randy Jepperson, Brady Young, Matt Long, and Bryce Redd.

The Imaginarium

Post a Comment